Skip to Content

Change body font size

Inform | Mediate | Advocate


 Small business owners and operators create local employment, provide essential goods and services and help create attractive, liveable communities.  Small Bus Friendly Council Logo

The right mix of small businesses can create a sense of vibrancy and attract people to live, work and visit.

Councils can have a significant influence over how attractive their area is for businesses to set up, and established enterprises to grow. They also play a key role in the lifecycle of a small business.

Most of the interactions business owners have with government are at a local level. To help build stronger, more productive relationships between small business and Council, the Office of the Small Business Commissioner (OSBC) has developed the Small Business Friendly Council (SBFC) Initiative.

Small Business Friendly Council Brochure (link to brochure)

Is your Council Small Business Friendly?

To participate in the SBFC Initiative, Councils are asked to sign a SBFC Charter Agreement which sets out five required initiatives that Council agrees to meet, as well as additional initiatives designed to foster and support small business in their area.  

The five required initiatives are:  

  1. Implementing activities to improve the operating environment for small business within Council’s area.
  2. Establishing a business advisory group (if one does not already exist) to assist Council’s understanding of small business in its area;
  3. Implementing a procurement policy which recognises and supports local small businesses wherever possible.
  4. Paying undisputed invoices from small businesses within 30 days.
  5. Implementing a timely and cost effective dispute resolution process to manage disputes.

Councils are then required to identify and implement three additional initiatives per year to support local small business. These may include initiatives already being implemented.

Below is a list of the Councils who have committed to the SBFC Initiative. Connect with your local council to find out more. 

City of Whyalla

District Council of Franklin Harbour

The Flinders Ranges Council

City of Holdfast Bay

Municipal Council of Roxby Downs

District Council of Orroroo/Carrieton

District Council of Tumby Bay

Wudinna District Council

Rural City of Murray Bridge

City of Onkaparinga

City of Port Adelaide Enfield

District Council of Coober Pedy

District Council of Ceduna

Town of Gawler

Port Pirie Regional Council

City of Salisbury

City of Victor Harbor

City of Tea Tree Gully

City of Unley

Mount Barker District Council

District Council of Elliston

City of Adelaide

Berri Barmera Council

City of Charles Sturt

Adelaide Plains Council

City of Port Lincoln

City of Norwood, Payneham and St Peters

City of Prospect

Renmark Paringa Council

District Council of Loxton Waikerie

Copper Coast Council

City of Mount Gambier

City of West Torrens

City of Burnside

Town of Walkerville

Campbelltown City Council 

Alexandrina Council

Light Regional Council

Yorke Peninsula Council

Reporting Requirements for Participating Councils

Participating Councils are required to report on their Initiatives on an annual basis. Please click here to complete your report.

Want to know more?

The Office of the Small Business Commissioner can answer any questions about the Initative.

Phone: 08 8303 2026

Was this page useful to you?

Please include your contact details if you would like us to follow up with you on the issue you have raised. Thank You.